Debating Shutting Down

I’ve been debating for a while now weather or not I should discontinue my blog. Lately I don’t really feel like I’ve gone where I thought this would go. I’ve been reworking Alone 1 and just don’t feel like I can fix it. I don’t think I can make it worth anything. I don’t feel that I am good at writing, so why should I bother? I’ve said before this has been just for fun, that I never expected to get published. Well now I see that I probably have a snowballs chance in hell at becoming a “real” writer so I don’t know if I should even continue. I’ve wasted countless hours writing that could have been spent on getting IT certifications that could help me advance my career.

Two roads diverged… did I take the stupid one? Should I have played the responsible adult and worked harder at getting a job that doesn’t suck? Instead of indulging in my fantasy of becoming a writer?

Bah, I know I’m whining but I haven’t written anything good in quite a while. I sat down today and had nearly two straight hours where I could have written to my hearts content. Nothing came out. I looked at rewriting Alone 1 nothing. Adding to Alone 2 nothing. Adding to Lambs nothing. I don’t even think I’d call it a block rather a complete lack of anything to say.

I think I’ve been a fool. Ever since I started writing Monster Hunter International fan fiction. Seriously it must be some kind of sick joke I’ve been telling myself to keep writing. My characters are flat and lack depth. My ideas are dull, and plots contrived. How can I fix it? I don’t think I can.

5 Responses to Debating Shutting Down

  1. Raptor says:

    Forgive my harsh language, Moose, but shut up and stop talking like a freakin’ idiot.

    I’m something of a sci-fi junkie. I’ve read stuff by some of the Great Masters of Science Fiction: Timothy Zahn, Kevin J. Anderson, Michael A. Stackpole, Isaac Asimov. And I will be the first to say that Alone ranks right up there with their best works.

    You’re in a slump. Happens to the best of us. Been there, done that, got the freakin’ cheap T-shirt to prove it. It took me four freakin’ months to write my first novel (which isn’t even really novel length when it was all said and done). Wanna know how much time I spent staring at the screen waiting for the words to start flowing? Probably half the freakin’ time! I’ve been working on a new novel since the beginning of the month (now that MHI: Northeast is finished), and I don’t even have ten pages to show for it.

    You also have another problem: you’re your own worst critic. I used to be the same way, still am a little. I’d read other authors’ works and felt like I’d never be good enough to get published. Then I started sharing my work and getting feedback, and I learned that maybe I was good enough. I still don’t have anything published, but I’m not going to give up until I get my books in print, even if I have to get them self-published.

    Your slump will end. Trust me on that. But I’d better not hear any more whining crap about how you’re a sucky writer and your characters suck and all that crap. I’m nothing if not honest, and I think that Alone was one of the best books that I’d read in a very long time. Yes, it needs some polishing, but don’t worry about that now. Put it away for a while, don’t look at it for a month or two, then come back and look at it with a fresh set of eyes. Polish it a little, then let friends and family look at it and find out what they think. Ask for advice on how to make it better. Make sure you trust them to both give you constructive criticism and not steal the manuscript, though (yes, I think it’s that good)

    And I swear on all that is Good and Holy on this Earth that if you discontinue your blog and abandon your dream to become a writer because you think you’re not good enough, I will hunt you down, tie you to a chair, superglue your eyes open, and force you to watch all of the Twilight movies over and over and over again for the rest of your natural life.

    • moose1942 says:

      Death by Twilight ‘eh? Sounds like a bad way to go.

      Thanks for the boot to the rear. I don’t know how you think Alone rates up with the Sci-Fi masters but if you say so.

      I will say one thing in my defense. I really tried hard to stay away from repeating what has been done a bajillion times.

      I do need a lot of work on Alone, and I’m going to do it, but it’s going to take quite some time.

      Anyway thanks.

  2. Durham68 says:

    If you like to write, write. I am glad to have read every chapter.

  3. Jay says:

    I think everyone feels that way about whatever it is they do, hell I’ve thought about getting rid of my guns after some range trips/competitions. From an uneducated simpleton I say you’ve got talent. Alone is an excellent read for anyone.

  4. I’m a little late to the party here, but I’ll chime in anyway . . .

    Shu-

    Oh. Wait. Never mind. Raptor beat me to it. 😉

    I will add, though, that when you’re in a slump like this, the best thing to do is just quit writing for a week or two. Step away and take a break, go back to normal life for a while. Watch TV, go to work, hang with the family. After a little while, try to write again. Works for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

