I Survived Running a Half Marathon!

Well I survived running 13.1 miles. No I didn’t beat my time last year but I wasn’t too far off. Unfortunately for me I bashed by knee on a rock on a camp-out three weeks ago, and last night I hit the same knee on the tailgate of my pickup. Needless to say my knee complained quite a bit during the race. He kept telling me to stop, and was actually successful for about 15 seconds. This happened so close to the finish line I could taste it, I was less than half a mile away. I kept telling myself, “Pain is just weakness leaving the body.” After about the third time telling myself that I either believed it or the lack of oxygen to my brain helped numb the pain. ;-P

My family came and cheered for me at two different spots on the race! It’s amazing how much giving high fives to your kids helps during a race.

Some people may think I’m crazy to run a half marathon considering my size and… umm bulk. To that I say “Crazy? You bet have you read my fiction?” 🙂

I will say this, I am much healthier now than I was before I started my running regimen so I think its been worth every mile of sweat.

On an interesting note before the race I met a couple of Apache Helicopter pilots. So I asked them a couple of “research” questions about Alone. They had just gotten back from Afghanistan a few months prior, and they were so humble. They didn’t brag about their accomplishments.

So I did have a “deep thought” during the race. Why are we running an event where the first guy to do it died at the finish line?

Later… I’m going to hobble over to my lazy boy now.

3 Responses to I Survived Running a Half Marathon!

  1. craig says:

    i can run about 4 miles then i fall over dead. congrats.

  2. Jay says:

    Well done that is an awesome accomplishment

Leave a Reply

