The Smell of Freedom

Do you smell that? It’s the smell of freedom, On Saturday I went to the range and turned some money into noise. πŸ˜€

Burning gunpowder, the flying dirt and the lovely ping of M1 clips flying through the air. No sir it couldn’t have been a better way to spend a Saturday morning. The sun was shining, and it was fairly warm out. I exercised a few of my rifles and pistols. Some guys were shooting pistols and clays next to us. They had an exploding target that they shot three times with a .45 long colt. It didn’t have enough oomph to set it off.

So I volunteered to shoot it with my M1 Garand. You guessed it, the venerable .30-06 popped that sucker. While I was cleaning the barrel of that rifle I reflected upon it for a moment. My M1 rifle is 67 years old. How do I know? The internet told me. There are several websites, here’s one where you can look it up and you will get a date range of when it was made.

My rifle was made sometime during November 1943. It is possible that my rifle was wielded by a young sergeant storming Omaha or Utah beach? Could my rifle could have fought in the hands of a Marine in the Pacific? Did my M1 rifle help a freezing soldier keep the North Koreans at bay? Had it ever been fired in anger to save the life of a soldier with a young wife and one year old daughter that he’s never seen? I’ll never know since the old war horse isn’t speaking to me. I guess if my rifle ever did tell me who wielded it I would probably have cause for alarm and should get my head examined.

This is my rifle. There are many like it but this one is mine.

M1

No it is not for sale. Go get yer own, and get off my lawn while you’re at it. πŸ˜› The government sells these babies directly to citizens.

Right click and select “view image” to see a larger version. In Firefox. If you’re using something other than Firefox I pity you. Go out and download it ASAP. Friends don’t let friends use Internet Explorer.

Firefox Cuddle

5 Responses to The Smell of Freedom

  1. Jay says:

    I’m jealous on multiple levels I want a Garand and need to get to the range something fierce.

  2. Jeff says:

    Gorgeous rifle! Gonna get one once I get another job..IF I can find one…

    • moose1942 says:

      Keep looking Jeff, good luck. I love my M1, it’s a great weapon a true war horse that helped our men defend freedom. Hopefully it will never have to do that again.

  3. Windy Wilson says:

    Jay, if you are an American Citizen, by all means, check out the program at the Civilian Marksmanship Program. ODCMP.org (or .com. I CRS).
    Mine is an H&R made in 1956 and sent to Greece to keep the communists at bay. It’s just too nice to have been issued; I think it spent its entire tour in the armory, without even taking a weekend to see the acropolis and Delphi.

    I like reading about what others think of their Garands. When I opened the box, mine was in almost pristine condition — no cosmo to melt off. It was love at first sight, to carry an idea of Colonel Cooper’s to its illogical conclusion πŸ˜‰ I’ve shot mine at the CMP Western Games, and will again.
    I need to get back to the range.

  4. moose1942 says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a sweet rifle there Windy.

    A woman who owns an American made surplus high powered semi-automatic battle rifle, and shoots it in competitions. Wow we need to let Barbara Boxer know, maybe it will put her into Anaphylactic shock. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

